~*~ Review ~*~ Darken the Stars (Kricket #3) by Amy A. Bartol

Darken the Stars (Kricket #3)

24931971
Blurb:

Kyon Ensin finally has what he’s always wanted: possession of Kricket Hollowell, the priestess who foresees the future. Together, their combined power will be unrivaled. Kricket, however, doesn’t crave the crown of Ethar—she has an unbreakable desire to live life on her own terms, a life that she desperately wants to share with her love, Trey Allairis.

As conspiracies rage in the war for Ethar, Kricket’s so-called allies want to use her as a spy. Even those held closest cannot be trusted—including Astrid, her sister, and Giffen, a member of a mysterious order with a hidden agenda. But Kricket’s resolve will not allow her to be used as anyone’s pawn, even as the Brotherhood sharpens its plans to cut out her heart.

As the destiny prophesied by her mother approaches, Kricket will backtrack through her fiery future to reshape it. For she knows one thing above all else: the only person she can truly count on is herself.

~*~
My Review:
Firstly I would like to thank the lovely author, Amy Bartol, and NetGalley for kindly providing me with a copy to read and review.
I absolutely worship the ground that Bartol walks on……she is amazing and I was privileged to have met her in Edinburgh, although I will admit I was star-struck and was quiet 🙂
I know I say this, but I’ll say it again; I honestly cannot put words together and make a review that would do this book justice…
I swooned, laughed, gasped, and then swooned some more, not before completely balling my eyes outs whilst reading this book.! Such an emotional rollercoaster of a ride and one that grips the reader from the very first page.
Darken The Stars is about war, the fight for survival, love, trust, betrayal and fear. Fear for loved ones and for what is to come.
Kricket’s sole aim is to survive and thrive, this is definitely her story.
“It bothers me that the Brothers don’t do more than glance at me. They’re definitely not as afraid of me as they are of Kyon. I’m surprised to know that it bothers me that I’m the lesser of the two evils in their eyes. I want them to quake when they see me and shudder when my very name is spoken. I want them to cower in my presence. It’s a bit shocking to me the depth of this emotion. Maybe it shouldn’t be.”
Now since books 1&2 I was tooooootally Team Trey, but after this book, at sitting on the fence, Kyon totally pulled at something in this one, so even I can’t choose between Trey & Kyon. There is so much more to Kyon than what we saw in the first two books.
Trey, Wayra and Jax were barely in this book 😦 I loved them in the previous books and felt they were an important part of Kricket’s journey. But we were introduced to a few new characters that you’ll be sure to fall in love with just as much.
As always Bartol’s writing is simply phenomenal, words are and never will be just enough, one must read this series in order to grasp all the characters involved, especially Trey and Kricket!
BUT it can’t possibly end there, can it? My feelings are a little all over the place after finishing it, the ending confused me, but I’m glad Amy has left it open; for another addition maybe?
What could possibly happen next?
~*~
About The Author:

author pic (1)

I live in Michigan with my husband and our two sons. My family is very supportive of my writing. When I’m writing, they often bring me the take-out menu so that I can call and order them dinner. They listen patiently when I talk about my characters like they’re  real. They rarely roll their eyes when I tell them I’ll only be a second while I finish writing a chapter…and then they take off their coats. They ask me how the story is going when I surface after living for hours in a world of my own making. They have learned to accept my “writing uniform” consisting of a slightly unflattering pink fleece jacket, t-shirt, and black yoga pants. And they smile at my nerdy bookishness whenever I try to explain urban fantasy to them. In short, they get me, so they are perfect and I am blessed.

Stalker Links:

Website/blog
Facebook
GoodReads
Twitter
Amazon
Pinterest

Leave a Reply

