~*~ Review ~*~ The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

18635016

Blurb:

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

Source: Goodreads

~*~

My Review:

Thank-you once again to NetGalley for kindly providing me with a copy to read and review

OMG my heart is breaking…poor America…..

Oh wait, you haven’t gotten that fair yet, well my friends let me tell you to get the tissues at the ready and prepare for battle.

I dreaded reading his book, as like so many other series that I’ve fell in love with, I was let down that the characters  changed and wasn’t themselves anymore, or that it wouldn’t be as mind-blowing as the rest of the series, but I needn’t worry with The One 

The last 4 girls out of the 35 originally selected were amazing after they cleared the air between them, they finally become one, whole, a family. We get to see some really great things from Celeste, who was an enemy of most of us (let’s agree to disagree folks) She was so awful in the previous books BUT we get to see the human part of her. She is so much more than what she appeared to be. We also get to learn more about Kriss and Elise as well.

“And there we were, in the background of it all, holding on to one another. The Perfectionist, the Sweetheart, the Diva…and me.”

Maxon was pure perfection in this one, I mean he was in someways in the previous x2 books but I think this wouldn’t did it for me. Their relationship is quite complicated and very complex. They argue, a lot, but they forgive one another for the other’s mistakes and shortcomings, which makes you fall all the much more in love with Maxon. You can understand why both of them were reserved in being the first one to say those three little dainty words to one another, they’ve both got ALOT to lose.

“He holds my hands as if they’re the only things pinning him to the earth, and I focus on that as I prepare myself to the words coming, the promises I’ll never break. It’s magical, really, the power this day has. But even now I know this isn’t a fairy tale. I know that we’ll have hard times, confusing times. I know that things won’t always happen the way we want them to and that we’ll have to work to remember that we chose this. It won’t be perfect, not all the time. This isn’t happily ever after. It’s so much more than that” – Elise, Kriss, Celeste or America (who will it be)

The only downside for me was the ending….It didn’t pacify me. It felt like it was left open, it lacked something but at the same time it was perfect in an odd weird kind of way, BUT apart from that I LOVED this wholes series and I’m glad to of gotten the chance to read it and find a new author to love in the process.

~*~

Leave a Reply

