~*~ ARC Review ~*~ Teardrop (Teardrop #1) By Lauren Kate

16070143

Blurb:

Never, ever cry… Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

***

My Review:

So….I do kinda crush hard on Lauren Kate, after she wrote the “Fallen” series….I’ve been putting off reading “Teardrop” in fear that I wouldn’t like the story, or…I don’t know really, but I’m glad that I did finally manage to get around to reading it.

I’ll be honest in saying that the beginning, did drag, slightly too long for me, but nevertheless, it didn’t have an impact on my thoughts of the story.

I was a tad scared too, after reading some of the reviews of this, but each to their own, and we are all entitled to our own opinion, whether others like it or not….

Eureka became numb after the loss of her mother in a “freak” storm, that created a spontaneous tidal wave…having lost her mother, he father re-married to a woman, who to Eureka, seems to be filling in her “mother” role too much, too quickly.

Having feeling like she has no support system to turn to and, adhering to her mother wishes not to ever cry again, what more could go wrong to this girl….

I will be honest in saying, so totally got on my nerves….and I tried to like her character, but I’m stuck on the fence about this one at the moment, maybe she can rectify that in the next book?…

well….a storm is brewing and in crashes Anders….literally….

Cat is a the funny onion of the quadruplet of teens, who seems to be a real fire cracker and can lighten any sombre mood up.

Brooks is Eureka’s best friend, now I did want to like this character, but he irritated me a tad, which we kinda understand towards to end better, so I am willing to give him a chance to re-deem himself in the second instalment.

Left with what her mother left her in her will, a locket, letter, stone, and an ancient book, Eureka is against the clock and must figure out why her mother left her all this stuff. She will have to figure out what these things do.

Unfortunately for her she learns a hard lesson,  that everyone around her is not who they seem to be and things are definitely about to get stranger for Eureka.

Who will she choose?

Who will be there for her?

***

About the Author:

Lauren Kate grew up in Dallas, went to school in Atlanta, and started writing in New York.
She is the author of Fallen and The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove. She lives in Laurel Canyon with her husband and hopes to work in a restaurant kitchen, get a dog, and learn how to surf.
She is currently at work on the sequel to Fallen.

Leave a Reply

