~*~ Review ~*~ Persephone (Daughters of Zeus #1) By Kaitlin Bevis

15724908

Blurb:

There are worse things than death, worse people too

The “talk” was bad enough, but how many teens get told that they’re a goddess? When her mom tells her, Persephone is sure her mother has lost her mind.

It isn’t until Boreas, the god of winter, tries to abduct her that she realizes her mother was telling the truth. Hades rescues her, and in order to safely bring Persephone to the Underworld he marks her as his bride. But Boreas will stop at nothing to get Persephone.

Despite her growing feelings for Hades, Persephone wants to return to the living realm. Persephone must find a way to defeat Boreas and reclaim her life.

***

My Review

Firstly I want to thank Kaitlin for kindly providing me with a copy of Persephone to read and review. I fricking Loved this…I love things all God like and Deities…. Greek Mythology at it’s best.

Growing up can be difficult for a teenager, especially when they start to see things, hear things, imagine things…..what can make it a more “difficult” experience is to learn that your mother has lied to you your whole life…..yeah sucks huh?

That’s how it’s going for Persephone, also known as Kora, in this story. She learns of a whole new “realm” one where she came from….yeah if this was me I would be tripping…seriously I would think this was some prank and that I was having a…a.. well I can’t decide if it would be a dream or a nightmare…

For me this is the first story I have personally read of Hades & Persephone…..so I can’t compare…not that I compare stories anyway, each to their own and all that jazz….

Persephone need to take her new “role” with a chip on her shoulder….she’s been thrust into a world of no explanation, a world completely out of her comfort zone and to top it off…yeah, there’s this dark, brooding and devilishly handsome God named…..HADES!

This guy was NOT what I was expecting, I mean you’ve all heard the stories and when you think of Hades, the God of Death, The King of the Underworld, that’s exactly what you picture….death & destruction, but Oh NO!

This guy is anything but death and for him and Persephone to be “connected” to one another, takes this already awesome story to another level…

The plot was filled with lots of twists and turns and had plenty of action, romance, or sometimes both, to keep the reader intrigued and left hanging by a thread at the end…

***

About The Author:

I spent my childhood curled up with a book, and a pen. If the ending didn’t agree with me, I rewrote it. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and I spent high school and college learning everything I could so that one day I could achieve that goal. I graduated college with my BFA in English with a concentration in Creative Writing, and am pursuing my masters at the University of Georgia.
My young adult fiction novel “Persephone,” will be released this summer. I also write for Athens Parent Magazine, and truuconfessions.com. I have also published several short stories, my latest, Siren Song, is available on amazon.com.

Stalker Links:

Goodreads

Twitter

Blog

Facebook

Leave a Reply

